Print this story

Katie Lou Samuelson Tabbed Meyers Drysdale Award Finalist.

POSTED March 12, 2019
BY Timothy W. Gaffney
Twitter: @TimothyGaffney

Samuelson Tabbed Meyers Drysdale Award Finalist

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – UConn senior Katie Lou Samuelson was selected as one of five finalist for the 2019 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award, as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association Tuesday. In its second year, the award recognizes the top shooting guard in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

Samuelson is second on the team with 18.9 points and 6.7 rebounds per game. She leads UConn with 75 three pointers. The Huntington Beach, Calif., native has six double-doubles on the season. She was a unanimous All-Conference First Team pick and was named a candidate for the Naismith Trophy and the Wooden Award.

Samuelson was a finalist for the Meyers Drysdale Award in 2018.

The other finalists for the award are Maci Morris (Kentucky), Asia Durr (Louisville), Arike Ogunbowale (Notre Dame) and Kiana Williams (Stanford).

A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 student-athletes in October, which was narrowed to 10 candidates in February and now just five finalists. This month, five finalists will be presented to Ms. Meyers Drysdale and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2019 Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard of the Year Award will be determined by a combination of fan votes and input from the Basketball Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans are encouraged to visit to cast their votes March 15-29.

The winner of the 2019 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award will be revealed during the WBCA Coaches’ All-America/Naismith Starting 5 Presentation on Thursday, April 4, at the Women’s Final Four in Tampa, Florida. Florida. Additional awards being presented and recognized at the award show include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award, the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award, and the Lisa Leslie Center Award. Also being awarded is the Wade Trophy, the sport’s oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award which is presented annually by the WBCA’s community of coaches to the best player in college women’s basketball.

For more from Timothy W. Gaffney click here