Print this story

Stan Musial Tournament returns to Municipal Stadium in Waterbury. The Press Release from Ed Gadomski.

POSTED July 15, 2016
BY Timothy W. Gaffney
Twitter: @TimothyGaffney


Two teams (CT State Champ and one host team) from our area will be represented in the Stan Musial State Tournament here in CT.

Those two squads will be going to the AABC World Series that will be played from August 4th through August 7th. That means the two teams in the state tourney championship game will qualify. Six additional teams will round out the field: Two teams from the Houston Texas Regional, New Jersey State Champ, Massachusetts State Champ, Upper NY Regional Champ, and NY Metro/Federation Regional Champ. World Series games will be played at Municipal Stadium in Waterbury and Fuessenich Park in Torrington. This will be a standard double-elimination tournament.

Four games are scheduled to be played at the newly renovated Municipal Stadium in Waterbury on both Thursday August 4th and Friday August 5th: (9am-12pm-3pm-6pm)

There will be a doubleheader on Saturday August 6th with games at Municipal Stadium and Fuessenich Park.

The Championship game will be played on Sunday August 7th at Municipal Stadium. The Stan Musial State Tourney will run from Monday July 25 through Saturday July 30. Eight teams will compete to qualify for the World Series: 4 teams from Tri-State, 2 teams from Bridgeport, 1 team from Wallingford and 1 team from Housatonic. Teams and brackets will be announced this coming week. This will be a standard double-elimination tournament.

NOTE: The teams from the other leagues will be tougher than ever as the teams they are sending usually play in Regionals, not states, but since our states this season is in essence, the regionals for us as well, you will see those top teams more than likely (CT Storm, Fedells, Milford Hunters, and All-Star Batting) if the current standings hold true. NOTE: Games scheduled on Monday July 25, Tuesday July 26, Wednesday July 27, Thursday-rainout date, play Friday July 29, Championship on Saturday July 30. The Tri-State League Playoffs begins on Thursday July 21, Friday July 22, and Saturday July 23 for the 1st round of the league playoffs. The top 4 seeds will have a bye. Seeds 5 through 12 will be matched up in a best-of-three series. The better seed will be the home team for games 1 and 3. Weekday games will be 7 inning games only. Weekend games (Saturday and Sunday) will be 9 innings for the opening round. Later qualifying rounds on lighted fields will be 9 inning games regardless (especially when they have Fuessenich Park for the Semi-Finals and Tri-State World Series.)

Please lock in your field requests for your home games in the post season. Below is the post season schedule: July 21 (Thursday), July 22 (Friday), July 23 (Saturday) – Tri-State 1st Round July 25 (Monday) – July 30 (Saturday) – Stan Musial State Tourney July 31 (Sunday), August 1 (Monday), August 2 (Tuesday) – Tri-State 2nd Round August 4 (Thursday) – August 7 (Sunday) – AABC World Series August 10 (Wednesday), August 11 (Thursday), August 12 (Friday) – Tri-State Semi-Finals August 15 (Monday), August 16 (Tuesday), August 17 (Wednesday) –  Tri-State World Ser

For more from Timothy W. Gaffney click here