Print this story

UConn WBB Press Release. Samuelson named to Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Watch List.

POSTED October 23, 2018
BY Timothy W. Gaffney
Twitter: @TimothyGaffney

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – UConn women’s basketball senior Katie Lou Samuelson was named to the 20-player watch list for the 2019 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award, as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and Women’s Basketball Coaches Association Tuesday.

In its second year, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award honors the top shooting guard in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

Samuelson was a finalist for the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award in its inaugural season. The Huntington Beach, Calif., native earned WBCA Coaches’, AP and USBWA First Team All-America honors in 2018 for the second straight year. She is also a two-time American Athletic Conference Player of the Year and was tabbed the league’s preseason player of the year for the upcoming season. Samuelson led the Huskies with 17.4 points per game last season while also leading the nation with a 47.5 three-point field goal percentage.

The Selection Committee for the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award is composed of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2019 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. Drysdale and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite finalist at

The winner of the 2019 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award will be revealed on an ESPN platform during the 2019 Women’s Final Four in Tampa, Florida. Additional awards being presented and recognized at the WBCA Convention include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award, the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award, and the Lisa Leslie Center Award. Also being awarded is the Wade Trophy, the sport’s oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award which is presented annually by the WBCA’s community of coaches to the best player in college women’s basketball.

2019 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Candidates

Chloe Jackson                  Baylor

Darby Maggard               Belmont

Katie Lou Samuelson      Connecticut

Candice White                 Fresno St.

Dionna White                  Georgetown

Shakyla Hill                       Grambling St.

Mikayla Ferenz                Idaho

Maci Morris                     Kentucky

Asia Durr                          Louisville

Allazia Blockton               Marquette

Destiny Pitts                     Minnesota

Arike Ogunbowale          Notre Dame

Teniya Page                      Penn St.

Jovana Nogic                    Providence

Kitija Laksa                       South Florida

Jessica Kovatch                St. Francis

Kiana Williams                 Stanford

Kennedy Burke                UCLA

Aliyah Mazyck                  USC

Amber Melgoza               Washington

For more from Timothy W. Gaffney click here