Print this story

CIAC announces new football playoff format details.

POSTED February 26, 2014
BY Timothy W. Gaffney
Twitter: @TimothyGaffney

CHESHIRE, Conn.: The CIAC Football Committee came to an agreement on the
postseason format for the 2014 season in its meeting on Tuesday afternoon.

The committee adopted a proposal which maintains dividing teams prior to
the season into four divisions based on enrollment. The top eight teams in
each division based on the current CIAC point system will qualify for the
postseason. Once the qualifying teams are determined, the eight qualifying
teams in each division will be divided into two groups of four by
enrollment and seeded into two separate brackets based on the point system.
Each four-team bracket will compete in semifinals and finals and crown a
state championship.

The committee previously voted that 32 teams will still qualify for the
postseason, and that the 2014 postseason will consist of a semifinal round
on the Saturday 10 days after Thanksgiving and a championship round the
following Saturday. This allows a minimum of one week between each game,
which is in accordance with the strong recommendation of the Connecticut
State Medical Society.

Additional decisions on the sites and schedules for the semifinals and
finals for the 2014 postseason will be decided at a later date.

For more from Timothy W. Gaffney click here