Print this story

Gerry deSimas to be honored by CSWA.

POSTED April 20, 2014
BY Timothy W. Gaffney
Twitter: @TimothyGaffney

Gerry deSimas Jr., a former sports editor known for his continuing devotion to high school athletics, is the 2014 winner of the Art McGinley Award of the Connecticut Sports Writers’ Alliance.

The award, given in memory of a sports editor of the now-defunct Hartford Times, recognizes notable contributions to the Alliance and the sports writing craft.  DeSimas will receive the honor at the Alliance’s 73rd Gold Key Dinner on April 27 at the Aqua Turf Club in Southington.

DeSimas now is a communication specialist for Northeast Utilities, working as a writer, photographer and web editor, but he remains close to the sports scene.  He writes and publishes Connecticut Wrestling Online, which covers wrestling across the state, and The Collinsville Press, a sports-oriented publication that covers the Farmington Valley. He annually produces the state’s high school record books for football and wrestling.

From 1986 through 1998 he served stints as sports editor at the daily Register Citizen in Torrington, the Herald in New Britain and the weekly Farmington Valley Herald, based in Simsbury. He also was editor of the Sunday Herald Press, serving New Britain, Bristol and Middletown.

He continues to write on a freelance basis for daily and weekly publications. He has written for the Waterbury Republican-American for the past 15 years and has covered the WNBA for a variety of papers across the country.

A graduate of the University of Massachusetts at Amherst, deSimas lives in Avon with his wife, Jennifer, and two daughters.

The Connecticut Sports Writers’ Alliance will be presenting 2014 Gold Keys to West Haven High School head football coach Ed McCarthy, UConn men’s soccer coach Ray Reid, Branford High School field hockey coach Cathy McGuirk, former Boston Marathon winner Amby Burfoot, and one-time New Britain Rock Cats President and General Manager Bill Dowling.

Other CSWA award winners previously announced are: Cheshire girls volleyball coach Sue Bavone and Ansonia football coach Tom Brockett, the Doc McInerney High School Coaches of the Year; Southington senior quarterback Stephen Barmore and sophomore distance runner Hannah DeBalsi of Staples, the Hal Levy High School Athletes of the Year; Matt Harvey of the New York Mets, the Bill Lee Male Athlete of the Year; McKenzie Hollenbaugh of the Boston University women’s soccer team, the Hank O’Donnell Female Athlete of the Year; Andrew Haraghey of Enrico Fermi High School and Morgan Bjarno of Glastonbury High, co-recipients of the Bob Casey Courage Award; and the North Haven High School football program, which will receive the inaugural Bo Kolinsky Special Recognition Award.

The CSWA will also present the John Wentworth Good Sport Award to Jason DeCarolis of Bristol, Tim Kulish of Shelton, Fran Slattery of Enfield, Fred Kelly of North Haven, David Dykes from Waterford, and the father-son tandem of Les and Brett Zimmerman from Meriden.

Tickets to the 2014 Gold Key Dinner, which begins at 4 p.m., are $75 and can be purchased by contacting either CSWA President George Albano of The (Norwalk) Hour at (203) 434-2320 or Bob Ehalt of The New Haven Register at

Additional information on the Gold Key Dinner is available on the Connecticut Sports Writers’ Alliance Facebook page.


For more from Timothy W. Gaffney click here