Print this story

Litchfield County Board of Referee's hold banquet, hand out awards.

POSTED April 01, 2016
BY Timothy W. Gaffney
Twitter: @TimothyGaffney

HARWINTON: You see these guys every time you step into a local gym for a high school basketball game.

If you walk out not remembering they were there, they have done their jobs the way they want to.

On Thursday night, the Litchfield County IAABO Board #7 (the local referee board) held their yearly banquet at Fairview Farms and distributed awards to local schools, athletes and to each other for the great work contributed by each group.

It was my first time at a banquet for the guys and gals who look to keep order on the hardwood and the camaraderie and sense of family was evident.

Heck, refs have to stick together.

These folks take an awful lot of abuse from coaches, parents and players at times but without them, how do we have games?

Seeing these folks off the court and not in stripes is something those folks who go hoarse screaming at them ought to see. They are human, they can see and they don’t have it out for your kid or player.

The dinner, prepared by the mighty Fairview Farms staff, led by Chef Keith Lamanna was stellar as usual. Can’t tell you a time I was disappointed by a meal fixed by these folks.

Sat at a table that included the owner of Fairview, Bob Ferraarotti, Board 7 President Aaron Lefkowski, Charley Harbach amongst others.

Great conversation with guys who know their crafts and take them very seriously.

On the court, their job is to keep the action flowing cleanly. At their dinner, things also run smooth. Dinner at six, awards over by seven. That’s some efficiency!

Thanks to Mr. Lefkowski for the invite. Here are the awards given out on Thursday night.

Congrats to all.

George Ganem Sportsmanship Award

Pomperaug H.S. – Dave Yachtis – Coach   

James Haddick Sportsmanship Award

Millbrook School – Michelle Moylan - Coach

James Logan Sportsmanship Award

Kent School  - Jason Coulombe - Coach

Board #7 Sportsmanship Award

New Milford H.S. – Bill Kersten - Coach

Edward Sadlon Award:  Outstanding Berkshire League Player& Exemplary Sportsmanship

Ryan LaMay, Shepaug Valley Regional High School

Board #7 Award:  Outstanding Berkshire League Player& Exemplary Sportsmanship

Courtney Carlson, Nonnewaug High School

Paul Bourdeau Scholarships

Shelby Griffin, Waterbury Area Magnet School

Jessica Hobbs, Kent School

Lindsey Mathieu, Torrington High School

Stephanie Speaker, St. Paul High School

Litchfield County Board #7 Letters of Commendation

Jon Russillo, The Gunnery School Athletic Director & Coach

David Wilson, Canterbury School Athletic Director

Litchfield County Board #7 Twenty Year Service Award

Chris Fracasso

Rob Hibbard

Aaron Lefkowski

Tom McLaughlin

Litchfield County Board #7 Thirty-Five Year Service Award

Art Hamm

For more from Timothy W. Gaffney click here