Print this story

Tri-State Baseball Kicks off Sunday. The season outlook by Ed Gadomski.

POSTED May 16, 2014
BY Timothy W. Gaffney
Twitter: @TimothyGaffney

The Tri-State Baseball League opens its 81st season of play on Sunday May 18th with all 17 teams in action. Each team will play an 18 game regular season with the ‘Top Twelve’ teams qualifying for post-season play in August to determine the Tri-State league champion.

In addition, five teams will also qualify for the AABC Stan Musial ‘State’ tournament beginning Monday July 28th to determine a state champion. Full regular season schedules can be found on the ‘2014 Schedule’ tab above where state tourney and playoff dates can also be viewed.

The Tri-Town Trojans (head coach Ryan McDonald) became the first team in Tri-State league history to win the AABC Stan Musial state championship and take home the Tri-State league crown. Not to be outdone, the Naugatuck Dogs (Jay Harlamon) made their 3rd consecutive appearance in the Stan Musial finals after winning the state crown in 2011 and 2012.

The Trojans edged the Dogs in a memorial game #3 of the World Series that took 12 innings to crown a champ. The Wolcott Scrappers (Ryan Soucy and Rob Silas) made it ‘three of the final four’ standing teams in the state tourney all from the Tri-State League and also advanced to the Semi-Finals of the Tri-State league playoffs.

The Bristol Greeners (Shawn Mirmina) also advanced to the semi-finals of the league.

The league will miss the Waterbury Wild and Prospect Chargers teams who have folded and will not field teams in 2014. The Wild advanced to the league championship series in 2012.

The Litchfield Cowboys (Dylan Stiles) look to rebound in 2014 after winning the league titles in 2011 and 2012. Longtime league stalwarts Bethlehem Plowboys (Tony Geraci), Winsted Whalers (DJ Reese and Chester Warner), Torrington Rebels (Curtis Anthony), and the Amenia Monarchs (Tommy Downey), all have their sights set on bringing home the league’s big trophy this season.

New coaches taking over managerial duties this season are Alex Hansen (Burlington Hunters), Jeffery Cappa (along w/Ray Brown – Tribury Twisters), while second year coaches Andy Watt (Lakeville Firemen), Paul Novakowski (Brass City Brew), and Dave Alarcon (Terryville Black Sox) all return as well.

The Canton Crushers will be playing their inaugural season in 2014 as the seventeenth member of the league and will be coached by Tommy Dubois. Canton ‘area’ has participated in the Hartford Twilight League previously and will play their home games at Bowden Field.

Rounding out the league are the Watertown Blaze (Jay Spear & Ben Germain), and Thomaston Threshers (Scott and Trevor Bellemare).

The 2014 Hall-Of-Fame ceremony will be held during the Tri-State League World Series in late August. This year’s Hall-Of-Fame class includes Bobby McMahon, John Pettit, Lou Parrot, Jamie Whiting, Dave Bouccino, and Jesse Carpenter.

Tri-State would also like to announce its 2013 award winners and all-star team:

MVP: Myles Scribner Tri-Town Trojans

Silver Slugger: Luis Serrano Watertown Blaze

CY Young: Myles Scribner Tri-Town Trojans

All-Star team:
Catcher: Landon Gardella (Tri-Town)
1st Base: Marco Ross (Bristol)
2nd Base: Edward Pena (Terryville)
Shortstop: Tom Downey Jr (Amenia)
3rd base: Kyle Murphy (Naugatuck)
Outfield: Casey McDonald (Tri-Town)
Outfield: Conor McEvoy (Watertown)
Outfield: Chris Blazek (Litchfield)
Des Hitter: Ken Graveline (Naugatuck)
Pitcher: Billy Armstrong (Terryville)

For more from Timothy W. Gaffney click here