Print this story

Tri-State baseball set to start 80th year.

POSTED May 15, 2013
BY Timothy W. Gaffney
Twitter: @TimothyGaffney

The Tri-State Baseball League opens it's 80th season on Sunday, May 19 with a record 19 teams set to play in the 2013 campaign.

Each team will play a 20-game regular season with the top 12 teams qualifying for post-season play in August to determine a league champion.

In addition, five team will qualify for the AABC Stan Musial State Tournament, which will be held the last week of July to determine a State champion.

One Tri-State team will also qualify for the AABC Regional tournament in Wallingford CT beginning on Thursday, August 1 with a chance to qualify for the AABC World Series to be held in New York starting August 8.

The Litchfield Cowboys are the two-time defending champions while past champions Bethlehem Plowboys (2010), Brass City Brew (2009), Winsted Whalers (2008) and Torrington Rebels (2007) are all looking to take back the top spot.

The Naugatuck Dogs are the two-time defending Stan Musial State Champions and will also be in the league championship hunt.

Equally impressive are the Tri-Town Trojan who have advanced to the Tri-State World Series the past two years.

The Wolcott Scappers and Waterbury Wild, who finished in the top five rankings in each of the last two season will be gunning for their first ever titles.

Several new coaches take over on the bench this year.

Dave Alarcon (Terryville Black Sox), Matt DaBlain (Burlington Hunters), Jeffrey Fabbri (Prospect Chargers), Andy Watt (Lakeville Firemen), Paul Novakowski (Brass City Brew) and Mike Diurno (Ansonia Valley Vikings) look to jump start their teams this season under new leadership.

The Tribury Twisters will be playing their inaugural season in 2013 as the 19th member of the league a will be coached by longtime baseball administrator Ray Brown, who is president of the Overlook Baseball program and serves as the commissioner of the Sandy Koufax League.

Rounding out the league will be the Bristol Greeners, Amenia Monarchs, the Watertown Blaze and the Thomaston Treshers.

The 2013 Hall-Of-Fame ceremony will be held during the Tri-State League World Series in late August.

This years class includes Chris Clark, Rich "Shaq" Thomson, DJ Reese, Tim Hamel, Ed Gadomski, Jay Rocca, Pat Murphy and Billy Liefert.

Tri-State would alsow like to annouce the 2012 award winners and all-star team.

MVP=Joey Serafin-Litchfield Cowboys

Silver Slugger=Dave Casanova-Bristol Greeners

Cy Young=Joey Serafin-Litchfield Cowboys


All-Star Team

Catcher: Tony Geraci-Bethlehem Plowboys

1st Base: Adam LaCapra-Wolcott Scrappers

2nd Base: Sean Miller-Jones-Naugatuck Valley Dogs

Shortstop: Steve Carosella-Brass City Brew

3rd Base: Mike Odenwaelder- Litchfield Cowboys

Outfield: Jeff Sturm-naugatuck Dogs

Outfield: Ed Peguignot-Litchfield Cowboys

Outfield: Chris Blazek-Litchfield Cowboys

For more from Timothy W. Gaffney click here